Personal details – Executive Board

Wouter Koolmees (b. 1977), Chair and CEO, Dutch nationality

  • Focus areas: Communication and corporate affairs, audit, legal and board secretariat, risk & compliance, HR, NS Stations

  • Other positions held: Chair of the temporary Energy Emergency Fund, member of the executive board and general council of VNO-NCW, chair of the supervisory board of the Anne Frank Foundation

  • Main background: Economics (Utrecht University)

  • Career highlights: Ministry of Finance, Member of Parliament, Minister of Social Affairs and Employment and second Deputy Prime Minister.

Bert Groenewegen (b. 1964), Finance Director, Dutch nationality

  • Focus areas: Finance, Abellio, IT and data, procurement, accommodation, new trains. Security, data innovation & analysis

  • Other positions held: Member of the supervisory board of Coolblue, member of the supervisory board of Teslin Participaties, member of the supervisory board of the Dutch Railway Museum

  • Background: Business Economics (Tilburg University)

  • Career highlights: Exact Software, General Atlantic Partners, PCM Uitgevers, Ziggo

Tjalling Smit (b. 1977), Director of Commerce & Development, Dutch nationality

  • Focus areas: Strategy and innovation, network development, sustainability, commerce

  • Other positions held: Member of the executive committee of Coöperatie OV Bedrijven

  • Background: Business Administration (Nyenrode) and Hotel Management School

  • Career highlights: Transavia, Air France/KLM

Eelco van Asch (b. 1972), Director of Operations, Dutch nationality

  • Focus areas: Operational control, service and operations, maintenance, train modernisation, engineering, QHSE operations, public safety, International

  • Other positions held: -

  • Main background: VU Amsterdam, IMD Lausanne, Stanford University

  • Career highlights: KLM, Air France/KLM, Delta Lloyd

Departures in 2023

Anneke de Vries (1964), Dutch nationality, left NS effective 15 October 2023 following the expiry of her term of appointment under the Articles of Association.

Print page